Burston and Tivetshall Primary Schools have a federated governing board, meaning that there is one Local Governing Board shared between both schools in our Partnership. The Local Governing Body (LGB) sits within the broader leadership structure of Sapientia Education Trust. Information on the Sapientia Education Trust governance can be found on the website :

The Governors of the federation are responsible for the overall strategy for the schools by:

  • Setting the aims and objectives for the schools
  • Adopting policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Setting targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitoring the targets of the aims and objectives

The  Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and organisation of the schools.

Following a review of governance arrangements and careful consideration, the Board of Trustees decided to dissolve the LGB in July 2020 and put in place an IEB (Interim Executive Board) to oversee governance arrangements at the schools.  This is to ensure that standards of governance moving forward meet expectations and provide appropriate support and challenge to the school leadership. The new IEB is now in place with the following members:

Emma Davies – Director of Primary Standards  (IEB Chair)

Rob Brewster – Director of Primary Development/Teaching School

Lauren Smith – HR Manager 

Mark Carlyle – Headteacher of Burston and Tivetshall Primary Schools

Claire Munday - Deputy Headteacher of Sparhawk Infant School

Vivien Pittman - Deputy Headteacher of Diss High School 

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now